Wednesday, October 03, 2018

AERC Announces International Endurance Equine Excellence Award

October 2, 2018

The American Endurance Ride Conference is pleased to announce its first-ever International Endurance Equine Excellence Award. 

Nominations are now open for this award, designed to recognize the best horses from around the world in overall achievement. AERC, in seeking to emphasize longevity as an essential ingredient to success, requires that the nominated horse have a minimum of eight years of endurance competition. The award's minimum mileage requirement is 2500 miles/4000 km in rides of 50 miles/80 km or longer. 

The top horses will be named at the AERC convention's national award ceremony on March 9, 2019, in Reno, Nevada. Winning horses will receive a custom-embroidered horse blanket and owners will receive a custom trophy. Awards will be mailed to nominators if they can not present at the AERC convention. 

"The purpose of this award is recognize gifted endurance athletes/horses that have consistently and reliably performed at a high level for many years," said Past AERC President Michael Campbell of Texas. "Typically a single owner/rider has managed the horse's conditioning and nurtured the horse's attitude in a way that exemplifies the relationship between horse and rider typical of traditional endurance rides over difficult trails and terrain." 

By reaching out beyond the USA and Canada, the nonprofit organization, founded in the U.S. in 1972, hopes to acknowledge those riders and horse owners around the world who share in AERC's core principles. 

"AERC hopes this award will assist in a return to traditional endurance riding values which emphasize the partnership between a horse and rider team over a challenging trail as opposed to current trends toward racing that emphasize speed over flat courses with little concern for the overall well-being of the horse," said Campbell. 

"AERC hopes to receive nominations from all around the world where riders value their horses and the original goals of endurance riding which emphasize 'to finish is to win'," said Campbell. 

Nominations are due by December 30, 2018. 

Award requirements: 

Online application form: 

If you have any questions, please contact the AERC office:

No comments: