Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Jennifer Waitte and Al Baraaq Hold Original 20 Mule Team 100-mile Course Record

February 26 2014

It was reported that in winning the 100-mile Twenty Mule Team on February 22, 2014, Brandon Reed and BA Resolute set a new course record. While they did set a record over this particular course configuration, it is Jennifer Waitte and Al Baraaq who set and hold the original course record of 8:45 over the original Twenty Mule Team 100 trails in 2000, before the course was changed to the present trails. They also won Best Condition that year.

Al Baraaq, by Berdo out of Abu Farwyn by Numizmat, held a record of 28 of 29 AERC starts, with 11 of 11 100-mile rides completed, and 9 Best Condition awards. In 1999, Waitte and Al Baraaq also won the 100-mile Twenty Mule Team (and Best Condition), the 2-day 100 Death Valley Encounter (and Best Condition), and in 2000 they won the Virginia City 100.

No comments: