Saturday, August 05, 2023

Capturing the Tevis Cup, again - Full Article

The Tevis Cup, or Western States Trail Ride, was established in 1955 and is recognized as the founding ride of endurance riding. Competitors have 24 hours to finish the 100-mile ride to earn a silver buckle.

August 2, 2023 | By JoAnn Guidry, correspondent

Dunnellon-based Jeremy Reynolds notched his fifth Tevis Cup victory on July 29 in California’s Sierra Nevada Mountains. Reynolds, 43, and his mount Treasured Moments, a 13-year-old Arabian mare, covered the 100-mile endurance ride in 13 hours and 14 minutes. Reynolds also won the Tevis Cup in 2021, 2011, 2007 and 2004.

“Treasure is such an amazing horse,” said Reynolds, who won the 2021 Tevis Cup with the same horse. “She is so special.”

He said he rode the horse with no bridle, just a loop around her neck, “and she did the rest.”

Reynolds was quick to credit Tevis Cup officials with designing a slightly different course due to heavy winter snowfall and wildfire in the mountains...

Read more here:

No comments: