Thursday, December 19, 2019

Cheryl Van Deusen Nominated as US Equestrian's 2019 Equestrian of the Year Award

December 19 2019

Lexington, Ky. – US Equestrian is pleased to introduce the 2019 Equestrians of Honor. For the first time, an International Equestrian of the Year and a National Equestrian of the Year will be named for their achievements in 2019. Winners are determined based on the results of online voting, which is now open through Thursday, January 2, 2020, at midnight. The 2019 International and National Equestrians of the Year will be awarded on January 10, 2020, during the 2019 Pegasus Awards presented by Adequan® at the US Equestrian Annual Meeting in West Palm Beach, Fla. US Equestrian’s Pegasus Awards honor some of the great men and women of equestrian sport.

Cheryl Van Deusen, endurance rider from New Smyrna Beach, Florida, is one of ten equestrians nominated as US Equestrian's 2019 Equestrians of Honor award.

The Becky Grand Hart Trophy is presented to international-level non-Olympic athletes.

Cheryl Van Deusen has consistently been the top-ranked U.S. endurance athlete, and she collected numerous top placings. She partnered with four different horses to earn four first-place finishes in endurance rides in 2019. Van Deusen rode to the win in the Fun in the Sun CEI1* 80 kilometer ride with Spotless Summer Magic. Her next win came with LR April Breeze in the Indian Springs Endurance Ride CEI2* 120 kilometer division. The Biltmore Challenge was another successful ride for Van Deusen with a win in the CEI1* 80 kilometer aboard Snake Eyes Leroy. Her final win of 2019 was the inaugural USEF CEI1* Endurance National Championship at the Broxton Bridge Plantation ride aboard longtime partner Hoover the Mover.

Van Deusen tallied 13 other top-six finishes in rides across the U.S., ranging from 80 kilometers to 160 kilometers in length. She consistently ranked at or near the top of the FEI Endurance Open Rider World Ranking List in 2019. In addition to her riding accomplishments, she organizes endurance rides and serves on the Endurance Sport Committee.

See the rest of the nominees here:

No comments: